Welcome to our website!

search engine by freefind

Kossuth County is located in north central Iowa. As of 2000, the population was 17,163. With a total area of 974 square miles, it is the largest county in Iowa. Kossuth County was established in 1851 and named after Lajos Kossuth, a Hungarian patriot and Statesman. We are largely an agricultural area, growing mostly corn, soybeans and livestock.

The county seat is Algona, a town of about 5,700. Current towns include Bancroft, Burt, Fenton, Lakota, Ledyard, Lone Rock, LuVerne, St. Joseph, Swea City, Titonka, Wesley, West Bend and Whittemore.

We are based out of the Algona Public Library and therefore have a "Genie Room"
Check it out the next time your in town!


2018 Founders Day Celebration
will be Thursday July 5 - Sunday July 8
Click here

Kossuth County, Iowa
You are visitor
Copyright 2009 - 2017 This page last updated on - January 10, 2018 3:35 PM